EU UPDATE: Sanctions – Geographical Overview

The EU has increasingly been implementing within the framework of its Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP), besides the binding Resolutions of the United Nations Security Council, its own autonomous restrictive measures or sanctions.

Such measures can target foreign governments, private companies, entities and individuals and can range from eg. arms embargoes, import and export bans, financial restrictions, to travel and visa restrictions.

EU CFSP Sanctions Map

The map provides an overview of the countries against which the EU currently has CFSP sanctions in force (*).

Not shown are any additional measures taken at a national level by individual Member States.

(*) The countries currently under EU CFSP sanctions are: Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote D’Ivoire, Egypt, Eritrea, Republic of Guinea (Conakry), Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Moldova, Myanmar (Burma), Serbia and Montenegro, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United States of America (~Cuba measures), Zimbabwe.

EU UPDATE: GCO Sponsors ICPA 2012 Barcelona
EU UPDATE: Sanctions - Syria

Related Posts


By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to