EU UPDATE: Sanctions – Geographical Overview

The EU has increasingly been implementing within the framework of its Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP), besides the binding Resolutions of the United Nations Security Council, its own autonomous restrictive measures or sanctions.

Such measures can target foreign governments, private companies, entities and individuals and can range from eg. arms embargoes, import and export bans, financial restrictions, to travel and visa restrictions.

EU CFSP Sanctions Map 2013

The map provides an overview of the countries against which the EU currently has CFSP sanctions in force (*).

Not shown are any additional measures taken at a national level by individual Member States.

(*) The countries currently under EU CFSP sanctions are: Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Guinea (Conakry), Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Moldova, Myanmar (Burma), Serbia and Montenegro, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Zimbabwe.

The EU has also adopted under the CFSP long standing anti-boycott measures against the USA and its Cuba measures, as such these are not sanctions measures in the traditional sense. They however remain relevant when addressing global sanctions compliance and dealing with USA-Cuba related transactions. For more insight on these measures see also “Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Navigating Conflicting U.S. and Foreign Regulations on Doing Business with Cuba. The EU Perspective”, by John Grayston and Giani Pandey for the American Bar Association’s Section of International Law.

EU UPDATE: Laura Beretta Speaking at ERA Annual Co...
EU UPDATE: New Concessions Directive

Related Posts


By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to